Inns, B&Bs & Cottages
The Kennebunkport Captains Collection (KCC) is a piece of living history—firmly rooted in the culture and tradition of Kennebunkport. KCC is a modern collection of four historic Maine homes formerly owned by leading sea captains. The four houses of the Kennebunkport Captains Collection—Nathaniel Lord Mansion, William Jefferds House, James Fairfield House, and Acton Patterson House—once belonged to the daughters of Captain Daniel Walker.
One of the first settlers at the mouth of the Kennebunk River was Gideon Walker, a tanner’s son who in the mid-1700’s inherited a vast swath of land—much of what is now Kennebunkport. Gideon left much of the land, which the Kennebunkport Captains Collection now occupies, to his own son Captain Daniel Walker. Captain Walker and his first wife Lois had five children, and as they each came of age and married, Captain Walker deeded them each a piece of land for their own homes.
Through the early nineteenth century, the houses that make up the Kennebunkport Captains Collection were constructed. Captain Walker’s children and their families built and lived in these homes; their families often residing together for support as the captains went off to sea.
After passing through generations of Kennebunkport’s seafaring families, all four houses in the Kennebunkport Captains Collection eventually transitioned to small boutique inns. In 2021, Lark Hotels unified the properties as a single village resort featuring 45 rooms, a grand drawing room, gardens, a spa, and a highly curated retail experience; perfect for your next Maine getaway.